Those Elders

Those elders,
as imperfect
as they were,
those elders are
on my mind
Those elders
I would drive
12-18 hours
every other
weekend
to visit with
We would talk,
laugh, cry, pray,
and sit by the fire
They took their time
with me, you know
They gave up time
for me, you know
And those
12-18 hour drives
back home
weren’t always
filled
with spiritual highs
and profound
insights
they shared with me
Many of those drives
were filled with tears
and me punching
my steering wheel
cussing and being
so angry about
some of the things
they said, shared,
and teased me about
The ceremonies,
yes, even the talks,
because conversations
are ceremony too,
were about life
Living more deeply
by allowing
certain things to die
Those elders
were so gentle
with my spirit
and mind
but vicious with
my ego
With no hesitation
they would thrust
a spear into my ego
with few words –
or no words at all
Laughing at
my false pride,
false humility,
and my arrogance
in any form
when ego reared its head
Those 12-18 hour
rides back home
were me fighting
to keep
what was stopping
me from living
Those drives back home
were filled with the
torment and grief
of me dying
to an ego
that did nothing
but separate me
from The Creator,
myself – my heart
Those elders,
those dear elders
weren’t always sweet,
but they saved my life

Whenever I speak
of those elders
I often hear
people say,
“I wish those types
of elders existed today”
My response is,
Those types of elders
do exist today,
but like years ago,
and perhaps since
the beginning of time
not many people are
willing to go through
the death
those types of elders
offer
so that we can live
more fully, deeply,
and freely
In the words of
one of those elders,
“You can look around
until you get
the answer you want,
but that’s not
looking for truth,
that’s looking
for confirmation
and validation
There will always
be a couple of
people who think
you’re an asshole
no matter what
you say or do
But when you have
a lot of people
saying the same thing
it’s time to look
at you
If you’re one
of the only ones
you know
who isn’t full of shit
then who’s
full of shit
is you”

Those elders,
those beautiful elders
aren’t few
It is few
who are willing
to look at
the things
we don’t want
or like to see
about ourselves
and allow
that which stops
us from living
to die

elders

Author: thisholyinstant

Anthony Goulet is an author, motivational speaker, trainer, and full time street outreach crisis counselor.

Leave a Reply

